Olympic Day 2018

Please join us as we celebrate Olympic Day.  Around the world, more than 160 countries ...
View Full Event Info »


College Tennis Showcase

View Full Event Info »

View More Events


United Bid Committee Selected to Host the 2026 FIFA World Cup™

View Full Article »

Barbara Bush had unique presence on Houston sports scene

View Full Article »
View More News Articles




HOUSTON – The Rotary Club of Houston announced today the four finalists for the 2013 Rotary Lombardi Award, presented annually since 1970 to the nation’s top college football lineman. The award honors the memory of Vince Lombardi, legendary coach of the Green Bay Packers. In one of the tightest rounds of voting in Rotary Lombardi Award history the 44th Rotary Lombardi Award finalists are:

                        Anthony Barr / Sr. / LB / UCLA

                        Aaron Donald / Sr. / DT / Pittsburgh

                        CJ Mosley / Sr. / LB / Alabama

                        Michael Sam / Sr. / DE / Missouri

One of the few remaining stand-alone NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision collegiate awards, each year the four finalists of the Lombardi Award travel to Houston for the presentation. While in the community, finalists make a stop at the Texas Medical Center to visit the Front Line Kids, children who are fighting cancer in local Houston hospitals.  Since the award’s inception, millions has been raised to help fund cancer research, public education and direct services to cancer patients.

For over forty years, the award has been presented annually to the nation’s best Division I college football lineman (offense or defense) who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.  Head coaches of NCAA FBS teams, all former winners and finalists of the Lombardi Award, and selected members of the national sports media make up the electorate that decides the award winner.

The 2013 honoree will be announced at the Rotary Lombardi Award Presentation on December 11 at the Wortham Center in downtown Houston, Texas. This year’s Rotary Lombardi Award ceremony will again be shown across the country via a live television broadcast on CBS Sports Network hosted by Spencer Tillman.

 For tickets and sponsorship information, visit

The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Author: Stephanie Weaver
Phone: (713) 308-5915