Women's CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers

View Full Event Info »


NCAA DIII Women's Golf Championship

View Full Event Info »

View More Events


United Bid Committee Selected to Host the 2026 FIFA World Cup™

View Full Article »

Barbara Bush had unique presence on Houston sports scene

View Full Article »
View More News Articles




HOUSTON - All four finalists for the 2013 Rotary Lombardi Award that was presented in Houston last December have been selected as part of the 2014 NFL Draft.  Three of the finalists went as first round picks.

Linebacker Anthony Barr from UCLA went to the Minnesota Vikings with the No. 9 overall pick.  During his senior season, Barr was named a consensus All-American, Lott Trophy winner, first-team All-Pac-12 selection, College Football All-America second-team, Pac-12 defensive player of the week, and Walter Camp Football Foundation player of the week.

2013 Rotary Lombardi Award winner Aaron Donald was selected in the first round by the St. Louis Rams with the thirteenth selection in the draft. The defensive tackle from Pittsburgh was also honored in 2013 with the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and was named first-team All-American and ACC Defensive Player of the Year. 

C.J. Mosely, linebacker from Alabama, was taken with the seventeenth overall selection going to the Baltimore Ravens.  Mosely was a consensus All-American, first-team All-SEC, and was honored with the Butkus Award in 2013.

Defensive end Michael Sam from Missouri was selected in the seventh round by the St. Louis Rams.  Sam was awarded the SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 2013, was named first-team All-SEC, and received All-American honors.

2012 Rotary Lombardi Award finalist Jadeveon Clowney went to the Houston Texans with the No. 1 overall selection in the draft.

For over forty years, the Rotary Lombardi Award has been presented annually to the nation’s best college football lineman (offense or defense) who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.  Head coaches of NCAA FBS teams, all former winners and finalists of the Lombardi Award, and selected members of the national sports media make up the electorate that decides the award winner.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, 

Author: Stephanie Weaver
Phone: (713) 308-5915