Olympic Day 2018

Please join us as we celebrate Olympic Day.  Around the world, more than 160 countries ...
View Full Event Info »


College Tennis Showcase

View Full Event Info »

View More Events


United Bid Committee Selected to Host the 2026 FIFA World Cup™

View Full Article »

Barbara Bush had unique presence on Houston sports scene

View Full Article »
View More News Articles




BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) has announced its Hall of Fame class for 2013.

The seven inductees: Reggie Barlow (Alabama State), James ‘Jimmy’ Jones (Grambling State), Charles Ruth (Mississippi Valley State), James ‘Jim’ Osborne (Southern), Carol V. Cummings (Prairie View A&M), Bob Hopkins (Grambling State) and Richard P. Myles Sr. (Alcorn State) will be enshrined in the SWAC Hall of Fame on  Thursday, Dec. 5 at the Westin Hotel Galleria. The induction is set to begin with a reception at 6 p.m.

The newest members of the SWAC Hall of Fame were selected from a list of nominees who were submitted by his or her respective institution. The nominees were then elected for induction by the selection committee from members appointed by SWAC presidents and chancellors.

Barlow, currently the head football coach at the Alabama State University, spent eight years in the NFL with the Jacksonville Jaguars, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and the Oakland Raiders. Barlow played wide receiver at Alabama State and finished his career as the school’s all-time leading receiver.

After his collegiate career at Grambling State, Jones was the No. 2 selection of the former Baltimore Bullets (now Washington Wizards) of the NBA in 1967 and was the No.1 pick of the New Orleans Buccaneers franchise in the ABA draft.  He played 10 seasons between the two leagues and was a six-time ABA All-Star.

Ruth was named All-SWAC five times as a distance runner at Alcorn State, setting a school record for the outdoor two mile run (9:26). Ruth coached track and football at several SWAC schools and was named 2010 SWAC Coach of the Year in track and field.

Osborne graduated from Southern University in 1972 and was drafted by the Chicago Bears after graduation in the seventh round.  Soon after being drafted, he was named winner of the Brian Piccolo Award as a rookie and spent his entire 13-year career with the Bears as a defensive tackle. 

Cummings was one of eight women who won the first SWAC Indoor and Outdoor Championship for Prairie View A&M University. During her four years at Prairie View, the women’s track team won eight championships, and she set several records in the 100 & 220 yards for indoor and outdoor track.

Myles was voted Alcorn State’s Most Outstanding Athlete after leading the Braves to an undefeated regular season in 1984. Named All-SWAC as a quarterback in football and catcher in baseball, Myles was also selected to the dean’s list and was named to Who’s Who among College Student-Athletes. 

Hopkins was recently selected for induction into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, after an impressive collegiate showing at Grambling State and professional athletic career. Still ranked as the No.1 all-time scorer in men’s basketball for the state of Louisiana, Hopkins is considered one of Louisiana’s legendary athletes.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is one of the official events to kick-off the annual SWAC Football Championship Game weekend, consisting of 11 events over a four - day period.

The 2013 Toyota SWAC Football Championship will feature a showdown with division leaders from the East and West at Reliant Stadium on Saturday, Dec. 7 at 1:00 p.m. and will be televised nationally on ESPNU.  Immediately following the championship football game, all ten of the conference’s member institutions will participate in the Battle of the Bands.  Additional information may be found on the football championship’s official website at

Southwestern Athletic Conference

The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC), established in 1920, is a college athletic conference headquartered in Birmingham, Ala., which is comprised of historically black universities in the Southern United States. It participates in the NCAA's Division I for all sports and the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).